Georgia Workers' Compensation
As one of the original 13 colonies, Georgia has a history as vivid as the United States itself. From the former colonial capital in Savannah on the Atlantic Coast, to the University of Georgia in Athens, the Peach State is one of the fastest growing in the nation. Atlanta is a major cultural and economic hub in the US. With its warm climate and fertile soil, the agricultural industry has long played a major role in Georgia’s economy. Today, the state is among the nation’s top producers of chicken, eggs, peanuts, cotton, peaches, and tomatoes. Beyond farm and field, twenty-six Fortune 1000 companies have headquarters in Georgia, including Home Depot, UPS, Coca Cola, Delta Air Lines, and Aflac.
With an ever-expanding economy based on the communications industry, food production, transportation, tourism, and government, Georgia’s State Board of Workers’ Compensation serves over a quarter million employers and 3.8 million employees. Prior to the establishment of the Workers’ Compensation Act, workers injured on the job could not expect benefits such as compensation for lost wages and medical bills. Employees who were injured could sue, which could result in forcing small companies out of business.
Today, an employee in Georgia who is injured on the job is likely eligible for replacement of lost wages, vocational rehabilitation services, and medical payments. These and other benefits are paid regardless of negligence or fault, and also provide employers with limited liability.
What are the Georgia Workers' Compensation Insurance Requirements?
In Georgia, any business that regularly employs three or more people (including corporate officers), is required to have workers' compensation insurance. This includes part-time employees who work regularly on a part-time basis (e.g. those who work only weekends).  While corporate officers are considered employees, they may choose to waive coverage for themselves. Sole proprietors and partners are not considered employees, thus they are not included in the employee calculation for workers' compensation requirements unless they choose to be covered as an employee by notifying their carrier in writing. 
Businesses that fail to carry workers' compensation insurance as required under the Georgia Workers' Compensation Act face a civil penalty between $500 and $5,000 per occurrence. Additionally, employers who refuse to carry workers' comp coverage or willfully neglect to secure coverage as required by law can be found guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction, face a fine of $1,000 to $10,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 12 months. 
Getting Workers' Compensation Insurance in Georgia
EMPLOYERS is America's workers' comp specialist®, and provides small businesses in Georgia with competitive rates on workers' compensation insurance policies. The value added services that EMPLOYERS offers our policyholders, such as Loss Control Services, PrecisePay®, Anti-Fraud Programs, Managed Care Services, and online premium audits, make EMPLOYERS a great choice for Georgia businesses.
Interested in learning more about how EMPLOYERS can help your Georgia business? Request a quote for workers’ compensation insurance from EMPLOYERS!
 Georgia State Board of Workers' Compesnation Insurance FAQs. https://sbwc.georgia.gov/workers-compensation-insurance-faqs
[2, 3] Georgia State Board of Workesr' Compesnation Insurance Employer Information. https://sbwc.georgia.gov/employer-information